Electronic Roster Task Force Meeting Minutes September 12, 2013

Members Present: Secretary Ritchie, Chair Debby Erickson, Vice Chair Vaughn Bodelson Kathy Bonnifield Senator Bonoff Max Hailperin Senator Kiffmeyer Representative Laine David Maeda Patricia McCormack Commissioner Parnell Gary Poser Grace Wachlarowicz

Members Excused: Representative O'Driscoll Barb Welty

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie called the meeting of the Electronic Roster Task Force to order at 10:01 am in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Task Force members introduced themselves.

David Maeda moved approval of the minutes from the July 9, 2013 meeting. Pat McCormack seconded the motion. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Justin Morris, Hart Intercivic, presented an overview of the Hart ePollbook.

Mike Hoverston and Mark Radke, ES&S, presented an overview of the Express Poll-5000.

Kathleen Synstegaard and Dan Hudson, Datacard Group, presented an overview of the Datacard Solution.

Mark Rizzo and Brian Mortimore, SOE Software, presented an overview of Pollworker.

Members reviewed and discussed the proposed work plan and meeting schedule.

Secretary Ritchie called a recess at 11:30 am.

Secretary Ritchie called the meeting back to order at 12:15 pm.

Martin White and Kathy Nickolaus, Election Administrators, presented an overview of the EA Tablet.

Members discussed electronic roster technology including the different types of technology, the reliability of rosters, data security, costs and cost-savings associated with rosters, and the feasibility of using rosters in both state and municipal elections.

The meeting adjourned at 1:10 pm.